It’s the last season of the Hills… will we miss it?

I’m done speculating whether or not “the Hills” is real or fake.  I think we all pretty much know where we stand with this show.  I think we all know what to believe and what we roll our eyes at.  The topic is old.  With that being said, I’m just going to talk about the show that is in front of me.  I’m going to talk about its content and judge what’s in front of me, whether it be real (ha) or fake.

I watched “Laguna Beach” in 2004 and when “the Hills” premiered in 2006, I watched it.  You could pretty much say I have been watching this vapid fake/reality show for about six years.  You would think when I stick with a show for a long period of time like that, I would be the first to write about how great it is, how amazing the story lines are, how it hits home and how I can relate to these characters.  You would think.

The truth is, I have no clue what it’s like to party until 8 a.m in Miami during Super Bowl week.  I will never have an emotional conversation with my mother about how I looked prettier before plastic surgery and while everyone claimed to be surrounded by drama, I saw none.  I waited for some major fireworks after seeing the previews, but none came.  The words “crackhead,” “risking your life” and “AA” were thrown around, but they didn’t stick.  The whole episode was just a tease… it was a glimpse of how things could have gotten out of control but never did.  It just left us in that awkward limbo where we can’t decide whether we want to keep watching to see how dramatic the show can get, or if we should throw in the towel.

This is the limbo I have been in for the past six years.  I never watched an episode of “the Hills” and felt satisfied with what I was given.  I wanted tears, I wanted fighting, I wanted confrontation… I got a montage of Kristen Cavallari drinking and photos of Heidi before her surgery on her mother’s mantel.  There have been a few episodes that have satisfied me.  On “Laguna Beach” season 2, the episode “I saw you kiss her” where Lauren Conrad flips after seeing boyfriend, Jason Wahler, kiss his ex, I felt satisfied.  On “the Hills” when the episode “With friends like these…,” and “Apology not accepted,” I felt SO satisfied with Lauren’s confrontation with the backstabbing Jen Bunney.  With this year’s season premiere, the first episode of the last season of “the Hills,” I realized the previews for the next episode are what really keep me watching.  I’m clinging to that hope that something dramatic, realistic and satisfying will occur.

Typically, I would ask myself if that’s a reason to keep watching.  But after six years of watching, I guess I know the answer.  Yes.  Fancy editing and a couple of sound bites have kept me watching for years.  There have been glimmers of an interesting, compelling show, but no real substance.

So, as the show comes to an end, I’m done asking myself if it is real or fake.  Instead I’m asking myself, will I miss this?  Am I sad it’s ending?  I don’t think so.

3 responses to “It’s the last season of the Hills… will we miss it?

  1. Pingback: Goodbye, music television. Hello, gorilla juice-heads. «

  2. Pingback: Tough Enough and Good Enough |

  3. Pingback: Teen Mom 2… should have stopped at Teen Mom 1 |

Leave a Reply

