I don’t have low self-esteem. I have low esteem for everyone else.

You may recall a few months ago when I mentioned that Daria was finally being released on DVD.  To say the news excited me would be an understatement.  I soon found out that I wasn’t alone in my excitement.  Everyone I spoke to, from friends to coworkers to twitter followers to commenters, all had the same reaction: “I love Daria!”

So, this is it.  Tuesday May 11th is here and “Daria:  The Complete Animated Series,”  is finally in my hands.  From the minute you pop disc one into your dvd player you are brought right back to 1997.  That recognizable theme song, those sarcastic quips, those pushy parents and their plates of lasagna… it’s all there.  And it has only gotten better.

In addition to the five seasons of Daria, the DVD features BOTH Daria movies.  (“Is it college yet?” and “Is it fall yet?”)  There are character profiles and original sketches of the characters, as well as the original “Daria” pilot storyboard animation.  Music videos, MTV countdowns, and interviews with the cast-members (voices) of the show round out the dvd bonus features.  The rom portion of the bonus features contains a script in PDF format for the “Mystic Spiral” spin-off that never got made (RIP, that could have been great.)

Remembering how much you loved “Daria” isn’t enough.  You need to watch it and laugh all over again.  It was wit, sarcasm, and insecurity all rolled into one great package.  The voice of a generation is back and that voice is timeless.  Just ask your friends, they’ll probably agree.


Written by Jessie Kanev

One response to “I don’t have low self-esteem. I have low esteem for everyone else.

  1. I’m glad you know fellow Daria fans. I somehow live in a Daria-devoid corner of the world. I will be evangelizing her wisdom to the great unwashed soon.

Leave a Reply

