White Collar delivers a BIG season finale

It’s no secret I’m a “White Collar” fan.  I think the executive producer and writers dubbed fans of the show “Collars.”  Yep… that would be me.  I’m a collar.  Will I constantly over-load this blog with my thoughts and opinion because I am a fan?  I hope not.  But if they keep ending every season, or mid-season, with shockers, it will be very hard for me to keep my mouth shut.  Or I guess in this case, my fingers off the keyboard.

“White Collar” has brilliant writing.  The show never assumes the audience is dumb.  Plots and historical points are never over-explained, and characters are brilliantly developed.  The character’s are all likable, relatable and yet… completely mysterious.

Well, our exception is Peter Burke (played by Tim DeKay.)  He’s not as mysterious as most characters on this show.  Burke definitely plays for the good guys.  Unlike his counter parts, he’s happy to eat chinese take-out and watch a basketball game rather than visit a museum or sip fine wines.  He’s surprising at times, but not quite mysterious.  He’s level headed, a great voice of reason and incredibly likable.  He’s certainly got the tough task of trying to reel-in and manage our vaguer characters.

I know that when I say vague, our minds go right to Neal Caffrey.  Neal Caffrey (played by Matt Bomer) is a fantastic character because he does such a great job at towing the line between criminal and hero.  Actually though, I was thinking more about Mozzie.  Perhaps I had underestimated Mozzie this season.  When he showed his bravery for a woman he pined for, I was surprised.  My heart-strings were tugged a bit when he opened up about never having been adopted as a child and I was impressed by his brilliant ear when he opened that music box.  Mozzie was always a great character, but this season the audience was able to connect with him and be stimulated by him in a way that wasn’t there season one.  Perhaps in my last season finale entry, I gave Neal Caffrey too much credit for being a great character.  Perhaps Mozzie needed more acknowledgment.

Or maybe it’s a case of never knowing what I have until it’s gone.  With the way “White Collar” ended on Tuesday night, perhaps I had been taking Mozzie for granted.  He was comic relief for the show and he was a mysterious character, but maybe I didn’t realize what a strong presence he brought until he was suddenly (and shockingly) taken away from me (I know, I know… or was he?)

We’re in season two of “White Collar” and the show has  not lost its sophistication.  (Although, one could complain about the use of green screen on Tiffani Amber-Thiessen, but that’s really nit-picking.)  It’s as intelligent and exciting as it was throughout season one.  This summer we Collars got to experience investigations that ranged from a Criminology class, to a dirty politician and to an underground poker ring. We met characters that were elegantly brilliant and deceptively corrupt.  We saw places that were stunning and repulsive.  It’s amazing that after all those years of watching awful deaths and despicable crimes on “Law and Order” that I am satisfied with a simple art heist.  In fact, I’m more than satisfied, I’m excited.

“White Collar” never assumes that it’s audience is unintelligent.  This is a key to why the show is so  alluring.  It is because of this that the audience is able to make such a connection to the characters and be so excited to see story lines about ancient artifacts, priceless paintings, Spanish silver and of course, the inner workings of the FBI.  And the writers deliver.  They deliver with unbelievable endings like the one we saw this Tuesday.

I’m curious to see where the writers plan to take this ending.  On a show like this, you have to wonder if they have already seen the bigger picture in their minds.  Do they already know who “the man who pulls all the strings” is?  Do they already know Neal Caffrey’s destiny?  Or are we watching a story as it develops?  Either way, count me in for the ride.


Written by Jessie Kanev

Leave a Reply

